First Post


When I got home from work today, I walked into a rant by my dear wife about banks and the U.S. abject dependency upon credit. Apparently, all that feelgood stuff we’d been sharing over my cellphone on the drive back from Medford was just a warmup for what was really on her mind. The “I’ve been missing you, today,” and the “I was just standing here in the kitchen making a salad for your dinner” part was mere fluff to be replaced by, “I crashed your computer this afternoon trying to find out about the small print on the Discover card user agreement.”

This was important to us because the whole point of obtaining and using the Discover card instead of cash for our normal, everyday purchases, was for all the “cash back” we were gonna get at the end of the year. But it’s in the fine print where you learn about the various gotchas that modify your simpleton’s view of how the game is played. It’s a lot like reading your auto or health-care policy after an accident. That’s, of course, assuming that your lucky enough not to be one of the 40,000,000 or so Americans who have no health-care insurance policy. But don’t get me started.

You can probably tell from the preceding that I’ve got sort of a short fuse when it comes to the games corporations play. So, when my dear wife began to discribe the difficulty she had convincing a customer service representative at a Washington Mutual branch office that she wanted to close her savings account there because she was tired of talking to a robot on the 800 number, I naturally assumed that what she really wanted to talk about was my clarification of the way things really are in the world of finance. This is a carefully reasoned, fairly comprehensive, highly insightful, and always scathing, indictment of the stupidity of corporate CEOs, legislators, bank presidents, which also takes into account the inherent flaws of a capitalist system based on making a virtue out of greed, yadayadayada. . .

Ordinarily, I don’t get very far into my diatribe as my wife hates to listen to it, largely, I believe, because we are usually in the kitchen, and she is either washing the dishes, or preparing food during my launch. “You should write a letter to the Editor,” or “Why are you telling me this?” is the usual way it goes. But tonight, I was gratified to find her unusually attentive. How could this be? I was immediately suspicious, but undeterred, rolled on, gradually losing steam, until it became apparent that continuing would unnecessarily delay dinner.

This would be self-defeating, so I quieted down, sat down to eat, and resolved to upload an abbreviated version of my economic policy proposals to the Obama Economic Transition Team feedback link. You can do this to0. I’ll probably have more to say about this unprecedented development in a subsequent post.

Leave a Reply

